[Female Objectification] Stay Tuned for Legal Tits / Legal Tits

Originally I wanted to produce a video of my chest with strawberries covering my nipples, beginning extremely sexual showing me rubbing the fruit then increasingly become angrier and squishing the fruits. This was to represent the desexualisation of female objectification and to produce an angry filled piece influenced by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie. By destroying the strawberries I wanted to contrast the sexual nature of the video and underline how society can’t sexualise me or my body. But, after filming this video I was called into the office by my lead tutor who said this kind of content isn’t appropriate (for many reasons like the video could be seen by male teachers or the newspapers could see my video and give the sixth form bad press). All reasons understandable, but for a practicing artist to be censored for a video supporting uncensorship and feminity felt discouraging. She also forced the video to be sexual when I was trying to emphasise how unsexual it is. After this happened I had a student discussion which someone suggested to overly censor this original video and produce a pairing video exactly the same but with a male and have it uncensored to see if that would be censored too – like I thought it has not been, no one has mentioned it at all.

I am not overly happy with the Legal Tits video as it doesn’t perfectly match the first Stay Tuned for Legal Tits video; the pink background colour is slightly off, the saturation isn’t as high and the quality isn’t as good. We couldn’t film in the last location (the toilets), because of health and safety risks so filmed in the Foundation studio instead, but because this was a public area the male being videoed didn’t feel massively comfortable so I didn’t take much notice when reviewing the footage. I feel the strawberries I had this time also weren’t as effective as the last ones – they were smaller and not as long, also the male’s body was bigger than mine which emphasised the small size of the fruit in comparison.

Leave a Reply

