[Female Objectification] would tits still be sexualised if they were ugly?

Before I produced any response work to artists and the Free the Nipple Movement I wanted to experiment with different ways I could approach the subject using collage. As I want to produce my art physically instead of digitally I thought collage would be a good way to make my ideas begin to surface. I focused mainly on colour and text as I feel they achieve the biggest impact and discussion within the audience. I used primarily pinks to portray the stereotypical female vibe with touches of blue to contrast that femininity and beige to represent skin and nudity. I didn’t tie myself down to a particular style as I wanted to play around with imagery and techniques, but aimed for a cute, sloppy look because I feel it emphasizes the fierce female undertone of female objectification and the ‘angry’ feminist opinion.

Leave a Reply

