[3D, Ceramics: Past Self] Process Photos of My Final Piece, 10/16

My final piece has developed from my “Breaking the Outer Shell” response but still includes influence from Sarah Sitkin. I am creating a layered piece of work with both clay and papier mache, I wanted to have the inner layer be a material that is easy to paint and wouldn’t smash if hit and the outer layer to be a dull material that would easily shatter. The inner yellow face representing my happy present self, whereas the outer grey face representing my depressed past self. I will be creating a final video to compliment this piece which will follow after; I am going to smash the clay layer to reveal the inner face – emphasising how a person has to destroy their old, shell of sadness to move on to be a happier person.

Leave a Reply

