[Fine Art, Drawing: Reversing Gender] If Girls Can’t Show, Boys Can’t Either, 9/16

My first piece of work in response to Colby Jones; I produced a 5 minute, pencil life drawing of a male torso which is covered by black bars and digital pink/blue writing. As I am exploring gender reversing, the parts of a female that people expect to be covered (vagina and breasts), I have reassigned to a male body. If women are pressured to cover certain parts of their natural bodies then why shouldn’t men? I layered over black bars (like how media use black bars to cover ‘inappropriate’ revealed parts of the body), and written inside “if girl’s can’t show, boys can’t either” emphasising my point.

Leave a Reply

