[Lens Based: Beauty in Media] NOT ENOUGH, 9/16

Stage 2, part 2 of my Jamie Nelson response; the developed series of “MORE”. The 3 layers of beauty on my face is still ‘not enough’ to be viewed in mass media as ideal, I used better, photoshopped features of myself and layers of dripping makeup to create this simple yet powerful series. Firstly I added drips of watered-down acrylic to act as the first layer of makeup, then cut out and taped on photoshopped features to improve my ugly face and finally another layer of dripping makeup to again better/cover the faults on my face, but despite the thick coating of ideal beauty I concealed myself with in the eyes of mass media it’s still ‘not enough’.

Leave a Reply

